Category Archives: Accomplishments

Accomplishments–March 9, 2018

Academy of Culinary Arts Chef Educator Joseph Sheridan received the “Educator of the Year” Award from the Professional Chef’s Association of South Jersey on March 4. Academy students Briana Husak, James Knights and Emely Wapnik were scholarship recipients, and James Knights was also named Student Culinarian of the Year.

Accomplishments–Sept. 15, 2017

Shawn Gorman, graphic designer, received his master’s degree in Internet Marketing from Full Sail University in Florida on Friday, Sept. 1. Gorman, who was named valedictorian of his graduating class, also received an Advanced Achievement Award, and Course Director Award in his  Advanced Internet Marketing Strategies class.

Accomplishments–Sept. 1, 2017

Terri-Lynn Hamby, director of science labs,  received her doctorate in Educational Leadership from University of New England on May 20, 2017. Pictured is Hamby with Danielle Ripich, college president, who retired shortly after graduation.

two women in graduation garb smiling


Accomplishments–Aug. 17, 2017

Kristin Jackson, director of Admissions and College Recruitment, completed the 2016-17 Leadership Cape May County program offered through the Cape May County Chamber of Commerce in June. The graduation was held June 13 at The Reeds at Shelter Haven.

group of men and women smiling

Kristin Jackson, pictured second from the right, bottom row.

Jackson is also a member of the Leadership Cape May County ‘Alumni Founding Committee’ which will serve to support the program and keep alumni of the program connected so they can engage in community-related activities and promote leadership opportunities within Cape May County.

Accomplishments–Aug. 3, 2017

Dianne Dieterly, faculty support, shared the following:

Rachel Anne Dieterly, an Atlantic Cape ’06 and ’10 graduate, as well as a Rowan University 2014 graduate who earned her Master’s in Biomedical Sciences, has achieved her dream of attending medical school. Rachel has been accepted to St George’s University Medical School in Saint George’s, Grenada. Rachel plans to attend Medical School starting in August 2017. Rachel has worked at Atlantic Cape starting out as a work study student leading to Senior Laboratory Technician with our STEM Department and as an adjunct professor in biology at Atlantic Cape. Currently, Rachel is working as an Office Assistant in the Admissions Department.

Rachel is excited in what God has in store for her in the coming months aboard. Please join with her family and friends in prayers and well wishes as she begins this new journey.”

Accomplishments–July 27, 2017

Glenda Stogel, college recruiter, shared the following: 

Yesenia Martinez attends Atlantic Cape majoring in Nursing: she competed for entry to the nursing program and has been selected to begin Nursing 1 this fall. She gained work experience via work-study as an office assistant in the Counseling & Support Services office at the Mays Landing Campus during the spring semester. Yesenia was chosen by AtlantiCare to participate in the AtlantiCare Minority Management Internship and Scholarship Program. AtlantiCare, a member of the Geisenger Health System, designed this opportunity for traditionally under-represented students to experience the diversity and scope of management career opportunities available in the healthcare environment.

The internship includes paid on-the-job training and learning experiences from the AtlantiCare management team. Through a rotation process, the intern will be exposed to various operational areas within the health system, gaining insight into skills, behaviors and experience required to become a leader in healthcare management. Areas of work may include: diversity, finance, marketing, human resources, IT, education, customer experience, finance and risk management. Yesenia is engaged full time for nine weeks this summer and again next next summer. Upon successful completion of the first summer program, she will receive a $500 scholarship toward her first year of the nursing program.  Upon successfully completing a second summer program in 2018, the scholarship award increases to $1500 toward completing her degree.

AtlantiCare selected two students this year including Yesenia from Atlantic Cape and one student attending Cornell University.  Congratulations Yesenia!


Accomplishments–June 1, 2017

​Congratulations to Sandi Greco, ITS, who completed her bachelor’s degree in May. Sandi graduated Magna Cum Laude from Rutgers University with a degree in Employment and Labor Relations.