12th Annual Communication Awards Held on May 3rd

The 12th annual Communication Awards was held Friday, May 3, in the
Walter Edge Theater at Atlantic Cape Community College. The Oscar-style event featured
student-produced videos and performances by five “Communication Major of the Year”
nominees: Evan Fisher, Gianna Malgieri, Rachel Dougherty, Maria Gonzalez and Jalen Hudgins. The 2019 Communication Major of the Year award was presented to Jalen Hudgins.

The event featured 107 awards handed out in more than 40 categories including
journalism, public relations, public speaking, performing arts, film and television. Individual students, alumni, faculty and media professionals will be awarded for their work in the field.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The show also featured remarks by Pete Thompson, local sports radio host and former NBC-40 sportscaster. Ken Kin will be honored as Communication Alumni of the Year. Kin, of Galloway, graduated in 2014 and was the only student to ever receive the Volunteer Service Award, Outstanding Academic Achievement Award and serve as Communication Major of the Year in the event’s history. He is a recent graduate of Stockton University.

For more information about this event contact Associate Professor of Communication Keith Forrest at (609) 343-4994 or kforrest@atlantic.edu.

Leave a Reply