Eight Named Marjorie Ward Scholarship Winners

Atlantic Cape Community College selected eight Cape May County high school students to receive Marjorie Ward Leaders Scholarships. The students will enroll in Atlantic Cape classes this fall.

The recipients from Ocean City High School include: Juliet Evans, Scott Hogan, Kelsey Kosturko, Rebecca Piotrowski, Sarah Redmond and Gabriella Wyand. Middle Township High School scholarship recipients are Matthew Fazio and Taylor Ivens.

The Atlantic Cape Community College Foundation established the scholarship program in 2005 in honor of former Cape May County resident Marjorie Ward, who left $500,000 to Atlantic Cape. Under terms of her will, Atlantic Cape created an endowment to fund scholarships for Cape May County students. These students will receive $1,000 scholarships to the college each semester of their freshman year, leadership skills training and support from the college’s Office of Student Services.

Ward was a retired educator who passed away in 2004 at the age of 105. She taught for many years in the Montclair school system and retired in 1958 to Cape May.

The campus, which opened in 2005, features a state-of-the-art facility with all of the amenities of Atlantic Cape’s other locations. Students can earn an associate degree without leaving Cape May County, or take courses that count toward any of Atlantic Cape’s more than 40 degree programs. The Cape May County Campus includes an Information Commons with a library and computer lab, testing, counseling and financial aid offices.

Leave a Reply