Dr. Marty Marino Receives Lindback Teaching Award

Dr. Martin “Marty” Marino of Galloway, professor of social science at Atlantic Cape Community College, received the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award during the college’s May 22 commencement.

Dr. Peter L. Mora presents the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award to Dr. Martin Marino.

Dr. Peter L. Mora presents the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Excellence Award to Dr. Martin Marino.

Marino joined Atlantic Cape in 1970 as assistant professor of psychology and was later promoted to professor. He has also served as a mentor to adjunct instructors, school psychological counselor, area coordinator and chair of the social science department during his 44 years at the college.

“I am very happy to be the 2014 recipient of the Lindback Distinguished Teaching Award,” Marino said. “It is an honor to be selected for this award from the many outstanding and dedicated faculty members at Atlantic Cape Community College.”

Marino holds a bachelor’s degree in social science from the former East Stroudsburg State College, a master’s in counseling and guidance from Temple University, and a Ph.D. in philosophy and certification as a school psychologist from Temple.

The Christian R. and Mary F. Lindback Foundation of Philadelphia endows the award to outstanding teachers at select colleges and universities in southeastern Pennsylvania and southern New Jersey. Atlantic Cape presents the Lindback award to teachers who have contributed significantly to the education of Atlantic Cape students. The honoree is a role model who demonstrates accessibility to students, high standards, openness to new ideas and practices new teaching methods.

Past honorees include: 2013, Amy Shelton, associate professor of math; 2011, Cheryl Knowles-Harrigan, associate professor of art; 2009, Donna Vassallo, assistant professor of hospitality and business; 2008, Christina Cavage, associate professor and department chair of English as a second language; 2007, Marilyn Malerba Keiner, associate professor, paralegal studies; 2006, Ethel “Effie” Russell, professor, English; 2005, Dr. Louise Kaplan, professor, anthropology and bioethics; 2004, Richard Benner, assistant professor of philosophy and religion; 2003, Donna Albano, assistant professor of hospitality management; and 2002, Regina Van Epps, assistant professor of English.

Comments are closed.